theexquisitecollective

International collaborative project based on the surrealist game 'exquisite corpse'. Joins us!

Interview to Mariana A Miserável, Portugal

What is the moment of the day you enjoy the most?

My favorite moment of the day is the morning because I have all day ahead to work or do whatever I want.

What kind of music do you listen to?

In between rock and jazz.

Please list 5 resources across any media you tune in to regularly.

Facebook, Tumblr, Flickr, Pinterest, society6.

How would you describe your style?

It’s a huge predisposition for disaster, lack of talent for everything and a lack of care with the materials. It’s inevitable, but I end up by taking advantage of all that.

Are there any designers/artists/architects from the past whose work you admire?

Rafael Bordalo Pinheiro, a great illustrator, decorator, social and political cartoonist and ceramicist, although at his time the term ‘designer’ didn’t exist.

Describe a typical working day.

Wake up early, take a bath, get dressed, deal with some housework. Then I sit at the desk to design, and when I am not designing I do some research, answer emails; promote my work, taking care of my facebook/site/flickr/society6/behance/tumblr/blog, while I eat some crackers and other junk food. This takes all day and later at night I stop for a little dinner with my boyfriend and when necessary (quite often) continue to work late into the night.

What would your dream work be like?

I would like to paint a building, illustrate a book, illustrate a newspaper or magazine regularly, have a store/atelier with friends.

Is there someone you would like to work for?

Ideally, I would like to work with a group of friends where there is no boss.

Can you recommend some of your favorite books?

Where is wally?, nobrow magazines, Um Dia na Praia – Planeta Tangerina, Where the wild things are…

What do you expect for the future?

My dream comes true from the moment I am doing what I love; the next step is to be able to live from that.

Mariana A Miserável, Design and Illustration. Portugal.

http://www.marianaamiseravel.com

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2013 by in Interviews and tagged .